a-novel-ty:

Rating: ★★★★/★★★★★
Date Completed: 5/12/15

I enjoyed this book. It was a good sequel. The events of World After picks up right where Angelfall left off which means this book, like the first one is very fast paced and has a lot going on. However, even with this book being fast paced and action packed, I can’t help but feel like not much happened!

Penryn has finally got her family all gathered up but with a schizophrenic mom, a sister who looks like a spawn of Frankestein and the fact that the entire Resistance camp thinks Penyrn has risen from the dead, tensions are of course high and it doesn’t take long for something crazy to happen. Eventually they’re once again separated and Penryn is thrown on another roller coaster ride of a journey, trying to find her sister, saving as many people as she can in the process as well as trying to figure out what the Angels are up to.

There was never a time throughout this book where I felt bored or any parts that were slow going are hard for me to get through like the second half of the first book was. But I still can’t shake the feeling that the events of this book could have been included in the first one in half the pages. Especially considering that fact that the thing I loved MOST about the first book was all but absent in this book. And that is the interactions between Penryn and Raffe! 

Raffe is no where to be found for 70% of the book. And while I love Penryn and I feel like she is an amazing character and I love her prose. I love Penryn and Raffe TOGETHER even more! I missed their banter, their quick wit, sly jokes and sarcastic comebacks. I missed the slow burn of their unrequited feelings for one another. I just LOVE THEM! I love that when they’re together they always look out for one another, and that even though Penryn is just a human, she can still hold her own and save Raffes life just as much as he saves hers. I WANTED MORE!

While on her journey, some new information about the Angels and their agenda is revealed, as well as some things regarding the humans who are still trying to survive and take back the planet. But I’m still very much confused and have no idea whats going on. But in a good way… I have to say, I don’t know how Susan Ee is going to wrap everything up in a single book. I’m going to read End of Days very soon but I just don’t see how she’s going to reveal what’s really going on with all the angels, humans and some of the hybrid creatures that have been created and then RESOLVE all of that without anything seeming like its been rushed or glossed over.

Even though I only REALLY enjoyed the last 15 chapters of this book, which isn’t a lot in a book with 75 chapters, this was still a really good sequel and I definitely cannot wait to see how Susan pulls everything together. I know there isn’t going to be any kind of happy ending or happily ever after, but hopefully there can be some kind of light at the end of all of these characters’ tunnels.

Leave a Reply

